County Commissioners

Madison County Courthouse
1 North Main Street
London, OH 43140 
Phone: 740-852-2972
Fax: 740-845-1660
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm 

Duties of County Commissioners

County commissioners are elected for four-year terms. Two are elected the year of the presidential election and one the year of the gubernatorial election.

County commissioners are the general administrative body for the county government. They can perform those duties that are specifically authorized by the state legislature and no more. They are the county government taxing, budgeting, appropriating and purchasing authority. They hold title to county property.

They hold and adjudicate hearings on such matters as county zoning and county drainage petitions.

They appoint other directors: Human Services, Building and Zoning, EMA, CIO, etc.

They appoint certain other boards: planning commission, zoning boards, etc. The major powers of the county commission may be found in ORC 307.

  imag004           imag005            imag007
David Dhume (R)
Mark Forrest (R)
David Hunter (R)
 imag008   imag006
Rob Slane
County Administrator
          Sissy Wiseman